TV Shows

Why Being 19 Years Old Makes You Appreciate Cartoons

So this is a little bit of a different post than what I usually write, but I just have to talk about some of the recent shows I have been watching. I recently finished up some of your basic TV show hits like How To Get Away With Murder and re-watching Parks and Recreation for the billionth time, but what I have been enjoying the most is some of the recent shows from Cartoon Network. Yes, I’m a nineteen year old college freshman student who has been crazily binge-watching everything Cartoon Network has to offer. This started during the summer when I bought Patrick McHale’s mini-series Over The Garden Wall on Amazon. I’ve watched the whole series about 3 times now and fall more in love with it every time. This mysterious, funny, and also beautiful show that is speculated to be inspired by Dante’s Inferno is one of the best programs I have ever seen. It’s plot and characters are superb.

tumblr_inline_nvjtlrxkxe1s0csbj_400

 

After finishing that show, my boyfriend told me that he had recently started watching a Cartoon Network show as well by the name of Steven Universe. Although there were significantly more episodes to watch, I got through all of the seasons of this show very quickly as well. This silly but emotionally powerful show is created by Rebecca Sugar, who I believe has also worked on Cartoon Network shows like Adventure Time. It’s about a young boy who is raised by three “Crystal Gems” whom of which possess awesome powers and are from another planet. The humor is spot on and Steven is adorable, but the show deals with a lot of powerful themes.

steven-universe-01

And since I have finished all the episodes of these, I have decided to start the very well-known Adventure Time. I just started season 3 but so far I am captivated by the amazing art and imagination that is put into this show. Also, Marceline and Princess Bubblegum are amazing.

adventuretime

Some people might make fun of me for watching these shows, but I think they’re crazy for not even giving them a shot. Kid shows are so amazing and beautiful because there’s no end to the creativity that they can express. College is hard. Being a nineteen year old can really suck. Many people believe that your freshman year of college can either make or break you. Sometimes I just need to remember what it’s like to lose myself in imagination, and these shows definitely help. I think all adults could use some cartoons in their life.

(If you have any recommendations about what I should watch next, please leave them in the comments below!)

2 thoughts on “Why Being 19 Years Old Makes You Appreciate Cartoons

  1. Are you only into kids’ shows or do you like Adult cartoons too? If you like Adult Cartoons I would look up Rick and Morty, Archer, Bob’s Burgers, Space Ghost Coast to Coast, Daria, Futurama, South Park and Aqua Teen Hunger Force. For Kids show I recommend Samurai Jack, Invader Zim, Angry Beavers, Doug or Rocko’s Modern Life. If you like cartoons you should check out our blog. We’re amateur cartoonists trying to make our way into the world of Animation.

    Like

  2. As a 21 year old guy who watches pretty much only cartoons, I’d say don’t worry about it. Cartoons are, in my opinion, the most malleable and creative medium for TV. If you’re looking for recommendations I can give you a few. Doug, Angry Beavers, Regular Show, Invader Zim and Samurai Jack come to mind. And if you like Adult Animation, then South Park, Space Ghost Coast to Coast, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Rick and Morty, Daria, Bojack Horseman, Archer and Bob’s Burgers are also fantastic. If you’re interested in cartoons you should check out our blog. We are a group of Amateur Cartoon Creators trying to find a way into the Animation world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

