Book Reviews · Young Adult Books

Book Review: The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

2016 is the year I fell in love with Nicola Yoon and her books. Very rarely do I want to re-read a book immediately after finishing it, but I have felt that way about this one and also Everything, Everything. I think I love that her books are simple and don’t overcomplicate anything.

Also she has the magical ability of making a really cute story very sad.

This novel follows two characters, Daniel and Natasha, as they meet one day in NY. They form a romance very quickly, but much to Natasha’s dismay because she’s about to be deported to Jamaica.

I am so glad there’s a popular YA book about immigration, especially since that’s always been a hot topic in our nation’s politics. Although I have never experienced it myself, I think this novel did a great job of helping me understand better through Natasha’s eyes. I loved both her and the male protagonist, Daniel.

Okay, the instant romance was really cheesy and kind of unrealistic, but still kind of cute.

Also, those Korean karaoke places sound SO COOL.

Read and like my reviews on my goodreads page

blogsignature

Leave a Reply

